Signs of Spring

After the long winter of relentless bad weather, multiple snow days, and being cooped up indoors, I am welcoming the Signs of Spring with wide open arms. And a wide open door, accompanied with yelling, “go outside and play!”

I ponder the phrase, “Spring Cleaning”, because with Spring comes muddy shoes, dirty clothes, filthy little bodies, and a collection of shoes by the door that far outnumber how many kids actually live here.

583

Spring is messy, and I love it.

I encourage it.

If my child comes home squeaky clean I ask, “what in the world did you do all day?”

Want to jump in puddles? Go ahead!

Want to climb that pile of mulch like a mountain? Go for it!

572

Play with sticks in the mud puddle? Have at it!

Dig in the garden bed to find pet worms? Have fun!

587

Want to go barefoot and shirtless? Fine by me!

588

575

560

561

Sweets was so excited about the “Signs of Spring” that she actually made a sign for Spring. She hung it up outside to let Spring know we were ready for it. It was way cute. I wish I took a picture of it before Spring decided to rain all over it and it became a mushy paper mess.

We also had a birds nest we were watching and were very excited about.

590

Unfortunately, the nest and the eggs inside met with an early demise, which led to a “circle of life” conversation that, given Mahlie’s conclusion of, “well, I think they just went on vacation”,  didn’t exactly get the point across.

IMG_0653

We have a garden project we are working on that will result in a 23′ x 10′ garden space. We’ve been clearing out the many bushes and small trees in our planned garden space, which has now far exceeded our original time line. But with SJ and Sweets’ “help”, I am sure it won’t take much longer!

404

406

564

584

Warmer Spring weather also means I can bring the messy art activities outside!

594

595

Instead of paint all over the floor and the kids, I had paint all over the driveway and the kids. And the rocks. And the car tires. And part of a tree. Because painting on the paper became “boring” and they decided to paint other things to make them pretty.

Spring also means the kids get more exercise. Hiking and running and biking and running and running and running (because kids only have one speed, and that is running).

546

547

591

More exercise also means this:

597

And we can ALL agree that is a wonderful sign of Spring!!

Have a great crazy day!

Spring has me busy and I’ve not posted as much as I’d like, but you can find me on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter lamenting my lack of time and wine!

2 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

  1. Reblogged this on My Special Kind of Crazy and commented:

    Spring is coming! LAST spring we began construction on the garden, this spring it is ready to go! I will be updating on how Mahlie’s watermelons grow and if I get more than 1 tomato this season. I have lots of hope for this season!

Leave a Reply

