“Get Out The Hoes!”

For all of you that have clicked on this link expecting a very different kind of post, I’m sorry. That was a dirty little trick. Hahaha. I might be the only one laughing, but it got you here!

But for all of you that were expecting a post about gardening with kids, welcome!

I’d be more excited for Spring if mother nature would get her mood swinging self together and give us some sun and warm weather.

I’ve got my seed packets out. I’ve dug out around 1/2 dozen gardening books. I’ve created plans for our 23×10 foot garden space that will take around a 1 acre plot to accommodate.

And that bitch mother nature is still sending us snow.

HAPPY FIRST DAY OF SPRING!

I need the weather to get warmer. For my sanity, I need the weather to get warmer so I can send my kids outside with the catchphrase of moms everywhere; “don’t come back inside until dinner!”

They may come back in covered in dirt, giving Pi OCD type fits, but anything keeping them out from under foot while I am browsing Pinterest cooking dinner is fine by me.

We have a big gardening project planned. We are clearing out some overgrown bushes, re-fencing along our property line and creating a 23×10 space for raised beds.

I’ve had a 3×11 space before in a community garden and have always kept a garden in the back yard. Last year we moved and between unpacking boxes, furnishing the house and adjusting to the commute from the ‘burbs, I didn’t quite get my act together enough to get a garden started.

Not only do I love gardening, but I love gardening with my kids. Having a garden opens up an entire outside adventure for kids. Unsure of how to get started? You don’t need to have a huge space, just a pot and a pack of seeds will do if that’s all you’re capable of managing. But if you are looking for some great outside gardening activities, or just some fun outside in the back yard, here are some great books with loads of ideas.

1. Roots, Shoots, Buckets and Boots- Sharon Lovejoy

I love Sharon Lovejoy. Her books are filled with great ideas for garden fun. I’ve always wanted to build a green bean tee-pee…this is the year!

Roots, Shoots, Buckets & Boots: Gardening Together with Children

2. Toad Cottages & Shooting Stars- Sharon Lovejoy

Like I said, I love Sharon Lovejoy. More ideas for getting your kids connected with nature and the great outdoors.

Toad Cottages & Shooting Stars: A Grandma's Bag of Tricks

3. The Kids’ Outdoor Adventure Book- Tornio and Keffer

It’s a nature’s bucket list! As easy as collecting leaves in the fall to going fly fishing. Start making your list, and checking things off! Ignore the title where it says things to do “before you grown up”. You never grow up enough to stop doing the activities in this book!

The Kids' Outdoor Adventure Book: 448 Great Things to Do in Nature Before You Grow UpKids not into the great outdoors? Start small. Read a book or 5 to pique their interest. Oh, don’t know of any? Let me help you out! Follow my link to fabulous books for kids on gardening!

Not sure how to get YOURSELF started on a garden? I love this book:

The Complete Kitchen Garden: An Inspired Collection of Garden Designs and 100 Seasonal Recipes

It gives great ideas for garden design, and while I realize not everyone will have space for what is suggested, they give you ideas. And there are recipes that go along with it. So awesome.

Anyways, some people are probably wondering “where are the funny stories about her kids?” or “why is she posting all this domestic crap that doesn’t interest me at all?”

They are coming. It’s just not all that organized in my head. Like, I was going to write about how the wrecking ball (my youngest) pooped in the tub last night or how my oldest, Sweets, is turning into a Pyramid Schemer.   But my head is just in a gardening state of mind right now. I am sure someone will get naked and run around the neighborhood soon, and when that happens, I’ll let you know.

Have a great crazy day!

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Get Out The Hoes!”

  1. Will send garlic seeds to plant in October with directions. Kids will love how garlic scapes swoop into fantastic shapes before harvesting and there’s nothing like fresh garlic!

Leave a Reply

