Say What?! Conversations With My Daughter

conversations with my daughter2
It’s the beginning of the school year and there have been a lot of articles on how to get your kid to talk to you about their day. They give you strategies on how to ask them about their day because the question, “How was your day?” doesn’t cut it if you want to find out how their day was.

I’ve tried all the strategies they have given, such as “tell me one thing you learned today” and “what is the name of a friend you ate lunch with”, etc. I still get responses such as, “nothing” and “no one” or “we did a butt-butt dance” and “no, seriously, her name is doo-doo head”.

Really I’m not too concerned with how her day went because if she comes home without a call from the school saying she needs stitches or she took all her clothes off in the middle of morning circle then I am assuming it went pretty well.

What I need is strategies on how to respond to out of the blue questions at unpredictable times.

Those questions that are asked that are completely unrelated to anything you are discussing and have nothing to do with where you are or what you are doing. Or just questions that have you opening and closing your mouth like a puffer fish because you aren’t quite sure what to say.

Here is an example of some of my recent conversations with my daughter:

#1 In the vet office

Mahlie: “Mommy, is Mira going to be okay?”

Me: “Yes, she just needs some medicine”

Mahlie: “Oh, good. Did it hurt when I came out of your belly?”

#2 Middle of the night

I walk by the bathroom and the door is open, and Mahlie is on the potty. She looks up at me, all sleepy eyed and flyaway hair:

Mahlie: “So, does everyone have a daughter?”

Me, half asleep myself: “What? Um, no- some people have sons. Or no children at all.”

Mahlie: “Why do they have a son?”

Me: “Because sometimes babies are girls, and sometimes they are boys.”

Mahlie: “So does the penis decide that?”

Me: “I’m going back to bed….”

#3 During Nighttime Cuddle

Mahlie: “So Mommy, tell me about God.”

[note: we have not introduced religion to our daughters and have not discussed God. well, until now]

Me: “Well, many believe that he created Earth and everything on it. He wants everyone to be kind and generous and follow the rules so that everyone has a good life.”

Mahlie: “Oh, so he’s like the law guy?”

#4 While having snack

Pi: “oh, by the way Sarah has a bit of diaper rash; it is bleeding in a spot.”

Mahlie: “Uh-oh! Better put a tampon in her butt so she doesn’t have a baby!”

Me and Pi: stare at each other, waiting for the other one to say something….

Have you had any interesting conversations with your kids lately?

 

Have a great crazy day!

 

3 thoughts on “Say What?! Conversations With My Daughter

  1. My son (8) has to do a science report on a planet, and he picked Uranus. So it’s safe to say my husband and I have been giving each other a lot of “those” looks lately when our son cluelessly says something hysterical. I may or may not also lead him on to say something hysterical because I love it when my husband gives me the “Seriously? You know EXACTLY what you just said” look. I’m awaiting our reprimand from his teacher any day now.

Leave a Reply

