We’re Moving And Yes, We’re Taking You With Us

Selling our house and finding a great new home with all the space we need is a dream for my husband and I. We can’t get out of our house fast enough.

A big kitchen! Enough bedrooms for visitors! A room to eat in…what’s that called…A dining room! A back yard in which we can toss out our kids and say, “go play, and don’t come back inside until dinner time!” Ah, that will be the life.

But for the kids?

“Can we take our house with us?”

“But Grammy will never see us again!”

“How will my cousins know where I live?”

“I am going to miss my friends.”

“I am NOT moving! I’m staying RIGHT.HERE!”

Yeah, that’s the heart breaker. While this life change is going to be awesome in the long run, it is like the world is crumbling for the littles.

Well, for Mahlie, anyways. Sarah is just running around the house, sippy cup in one hand, yelling, “DA!” (dad) at the top of her lungs and running into things. She is completely oblivious to what is going on with the house and when she gets in the new house she’ll probably look around, pick up her sippy cup, and take off running again.

But with my Sweets it’s different.

This house is her home. It’s all she’s ever known in her short, happy life thus far.

She reached all her milestones- sitting up, crawling, walking, throwing food on the floor, falling down, potty training, moving to a big girl bed, getting dressed on her own, riding her bike.

All her memories have taken place in this home.

She knows where everything is. If I’ve misplaced something, she’ll tell me where it is. If I need something and can’t get to it because I’ve got a dirty diaper in one hand and a wriggling baby in the other, she’ll go get it. When babysitters come over and can’t find something, she’ll show them.

She is familiar with this home.

When she wakes up scared in the middle of the night she knows where our room is to find us. If she needs to wake up and use the bathroom in the middle of the night, she can get there, even in the dark. She’ll run right up to her room to her cozy bed when she is upset. When we are out and about, she’ll turn to me and say, “Mommy, I just want to go home.”

This home is her comfort zone.

While we are excited for our new home, “brand new” to a 4 1/2 year old is scary. It is unknown, unfamiliar, unsafe.

She will adapt and will grow to love our new home, and soon it will become her comfort zone, it will become familiar, and she will build lasting memories.

Until then, I think I know someone that could use a few more hugs, a little more attention, and probably a lot more ice cream.

Have you moved with kids? Leave your story in the comments!

 

Have a great crazy day!

We're Moving

One thought on “We’re Moving And Yes, We’re Taking You With Us

  1. We moved when my kids were 1 and 3. My daughter doesn’t remember living there at all and my son only vaguely remembers it. Our situation was a little different because my mother-in-law and sister-in-law moved into our old house, so it came to be known as Nana’s house. I think it made it harder for my son because there was no clean break. He was really confused for a while.

    By the way, sitting on an empty wooded lot with only an off-road stroller and a lawn chair while I tried to feed my still nursing daughter and fight off something worse than mosquitoes (still have no idea what they were) so my husband could get the property ready for our house was a special character-building experience.

Leave a Reply

