Friday’s Photo Finish: Getting Ready To Move

Getting Ready to MoveIn 2007 Pi, my then boyfriend, and I bought our first house.

Yay! We we’re homeowners! We’re adults! We’re responsible!

Since then, we’ve added on. Not to the house, to the family. In the beginning, it was just us, and we don’t take up a lot of room. However,  we’ve added:

1 100Lb dog + 1,000lbs of dog hair

2 kids

1,000,000 toys

Now we’ve outgrown our nice townhouse and are ready for more space.

Which means moving. Which means packing. And packing means getting rid of a lot of stuff so you don’t have to pack it.

Do you know how easy it is to decide if you get to donate, throw out, or keep the kids’ (shit, is that the right use of the apostrophe? Doesn’t matter, Dave will let me know if he’s reading this….) stuff with them there? *I just reread this paragraph and the placement of the word “shit” was entirely coincidental, but totally appropriate. This entire paragraph may be grammatically flawed, but I’m keeping it.

Exactly. Which is why for the next 2 weekends we are sending our kids away so we can pack up without the “but I loooove that one!” and “But that one’s my favorite!” wailings. Also, Sarah likes to immediately take out of boxes things you have just put in them.

Our realtor has given us an incredibly huge task list that pretty much equates to gutting and rebuilding the house. I asked facilities at work to save boxes for us this week so we don’t need to go out and buy boxes. Our school gets truckloads of deliveries weekly. Know how many boxes have been saved? 3. Yep, 3. So already this is going well.

I need more wine.

Stay tuned for the “Weekend in Review or How A Marriage Unravels In One Weekend of House Packing.”

 

Have a great crazy day!

 

3 thoughts on “Friday’s Photo Finish: Getting Ready To Move

  1. Way to go, Christie!! You got both apostrophes (note that one was not needed to make apostrophe plural) in the paragraph right. I’m so proud…let me just get a Kleenex to wipe the tear welling up in my eye.

  2. I wish you lived closer so I could give you a gagillion moving boxes that I saved from our move from LA to PHX. My hope was to save them for when we moved from our starter house to my dream house. Turns out our starter house could be our forever house. Good luck on the purging of the toys. Way easier with the kids shipped off. Good “move” on your part 😉

    BTW, moving to PHX? Please!

    • Oh, if only! But not, just moving over to the dark side, over the moat. You know. That “Commonwealth”. My dad may never visit….
      But if our scheduling works out, we could possibly have the move scheduled for when I am on vacay with yinz guys (get your tix!) in NS and Pi stays back to move us. Now wouldn’t THAT be awesome??

Leave a Reply

