Lost In A Good Book: Teaching My Kids To Love Reading

Lost in a good book

Everyone that knows me knows I love to read.

My parents instilled in me, very early, a great love of reading by always having books, taking me to the library, getting me books as presents, and reading to me when I was young.

I remember spending hours in the school library when I was in Elementary School, pouring over the books on the shelves, trying to decide what to read next. Anything by Beverly Cleary, all the Miss Piggle Wiggle books, Pippi Longstocking, Nancy Drew and my absolute favorite, The Phantom Tollbooth…the choices were limitless.

My mom said that when I had my nose in a book, the outside world disappeared and it was as if I couldn’t hear anything anyone was saying. I was a great example of the phrase, “lost in a good book.” I am sure my mom just though I was ignoring her asking me to set the table for the 10th time.

Today, I still spend hours in the bookstore, pouring over the shelves, wondering which  books I am going to buy next. Though now, they usually aren’t for me. You can typically find me in front of the children’s picture books, pouring over the classics and checking out the new arrivals. The volume of books for kids now is astounding. It’s a wonderful sight.

My bookshelves at home are overflowing. Now I am building up my daughters library, determined to instill in them the same love of reading that I had as a kid, and continue to have as an adult.

I must be doing something right, because Sweets has definitely caught the reading bug. Her bedtime routine has always included reading books and she’s always trying to sneak “just one more” into our pile at the end of the night. Then she insists on taking her favorites to her room so she can “read them to my animals.” Now she likes to sit in front of Noggin’s crib and read to her little sister. It is a sight that gets me teary.

Noggin likes books. She likes to throw them out of her crib and pile them up and fling them all about. She’s a more “physical” reader, so to speak. She loves the “touch and feel” books and when I make the funny animal sounds. She’ll sit for approximately 3/4 of Goodnight Moon before she’s squirming out of my lap. Granted, we didn’t quite get the reading before bedtime into her routine quite as smoothly as we did with Sweets. This was from pure exhaustion and just needing to get one of the rug rats into bed so we’d have a bit less to manage at the end of the night.

Sweets is now into having me read her “chapter books” and we just finished Winnie the Pooh and Alice in Wonderland. Let me tell you, that was a tough one for a 4 year old and I’m not sure if she understood a word I read to her. Actually, in some parts I am not sure I understood what I was reading! But she loves it- she loves being a “big girl” and each time we end a chapter she smiles and says “we’ll save the next chapter for tomorrow!” She is excited and enthusiastic about reading, and I love it. We still have her picture books, but I am not going to quell her interest in chapter books even if they are several years ahead of her “reading level”.

I’m always looking for new books and I keep a rotation of books that relate to upcoming seasons/holiday’s/events on her shelves. I was on Pinterest (great for finding kid book ideas!) and found some great books about gardening, and since I am all about ending this winter weather, I am welcoming these books that bring the promise of Spring! I thought I’d share!

*Click on the picture of the book for ordering information!

Here are some books that are already part of our library:

1. My Garden by Kevin Henkes

The story of a little girls that watches her mom tend her garden and dreams of what her own garden would be like. Of course, jelly bean bushes are included!

My Garden

2. Planting a Rainbow by Lois Ehlert

I’ve started having Sweets read this with me to Noggin. She loves being in charge of “reading” to her sister and she gives Noggin the direction “turn the page!”. The book get’s Sweets excited for planting in her garden, and she plays “teacher” by showing her sister all the different colors.

Planting a Rainbow

3. Growing Vegetable Soup by Lois Ehlert

Sweets’ class was reading this book at school and I always like to have some of the same books at home. We talk about all the vegetables she will plant to make her own soup.

Growing Vegetable Soup

4. Bugs! Bugs! Bugs! by Bob Barner

What’s a garden without some creepy crawlers?

Bugs! Bugs! Bugs!

The following are books I found and am planning on getting for the girls soon:

5. The Curious Garden by Peter Brown

The story of a boy trying to create a greener city.

The Curious Garden

6. The Gardener by Sarah Stewart

A little girl tries to bring some cheer to her Uncle and brighten up the place by bringing seeds to the city and slowly transforming her surroundings.

Gardener

7. Dangerously Ever After by Dashka Slater

This princess likes the thornier side of gardening!

Dangerously Ever After

8. Grandpa Green by Lane Smith

This little boy bonds with his Grandpa through his fantastic topiary garden.

Grandpa Green

Have any books you are reading with your kids right now? Would love if you share!

Have a great crazy day!

3 thoughts on “Lost In A Good Book: Teaching My Kids To Love Reading

  1. We’ve read plenty of stuff to our kiddo that was “above” his reading level and we didn’t know if he was really getting it. But if he was enjoying the special reading time and the sounds of the words, then what does it matter, you know?

Leave a Reply

