I’m Taking Back Thanksgiving

I love Thanksgiving. It is my favorite holiday because food. And wine. And being surrounded by my family. And sitting on the couch watching football. While drinking wine. And the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. While drinking wine. I mean coffee.

Notice I didn’t mention anything about shopping or sales or going out for Black Friday.

Nope, I boycott. I’m taking back Thanksgiving, and here’s why.

(This is a post I wrote for my personal facebook page in 2011. I have changed parts of it so it’s updated to reflect how things are today. Otherwise my thoughts on Black Friday and taking back Thanksgiving have remained the same).

This week, as we head into the Thanksgiving Holiday, people everywhere are getting together with family and friends to celebrate. This is my favorite holiday- a time to be with my family, cook good food, watch football and enjoy time away from the stresses of everyday life for a couple of days.

The past couple of years have not been the easiest  for my family. We have witnessed loved ones fighting life-threatening illness with some thankfully recovering and others, sadly and tragically, losing their struggle and passing away with their family surrounding them.  Any one of these situations could be enough to make one feel they do not have much to be thankful for. However, it is in these times of tragic loss and unimaginably painful struggles that I have come to realize how much I have to be thankful for.

I have a family that supports and loves one another. There was never a moment that our family lost sight of what was important- which was being together and continuing to forge happy memories, even in times of sadness. Because, as they say,  life goes on.  And when you have young ones running about, you can’t help but to have joy and happiness as part of your life.

I have amazing friends. Let me stress the AMAZING. You know who you are- Bridget and Mike and Michael and Kaitie and Andrew and Meghan and Jamie and Rich and Merritt and Karl and Pew and Vir and Laurie and Amy and Steve and Molly and Daniel and MEF and Tim and Lacey. Any one of them would drop and run to my side (and many of them have!) if I needed them, and for that I am eternally grateful.

I have a wonderful husband and 2 joyful little girls that I come home to every day. They hve made me smile and laugh in times where I have felt I don’t have much to smile and laugh about.

And while Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, I feel it is being cut short. No sooner than the turkey is cut than stores are opening for holiday shopping sales. People are leaving family gatherings to go stand in lines at stores to buy things. Stuff. Gadgets. Instead of staying and spending valuable time with family, they are going out to buy their family stuff. I would love to buy time- wrap it up in a box and give it to all my family members and friends who I don’t see enough or to those who have left us that I would do anything to spend some extra time with. But I can’t.

Instead, I am staying home and giving my family my time. And then I am making contributions to the people that have helped to provide care and support to my family and friends, giving us more time to spend with them, and for making the time they had here, even if too short, filled with love.

To the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at the Scottsdale Healthcare Center in Arizona. They took amazing care of my sister in law when she was on bed rest, took wonderful care of Camden and Calie after they were born, and provided the much needed support to my brother and sister in law when Camden passed away. They continue to forge a wonderful relationship with my brother’s family so that their little girl will always be remembered. They are truly heroic.

To the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network- in memory of my good friend’s father and now to a close family friend, both whom lost their battle with cancer.

To the Dana Farber Pediatric Cancer Institute in Boston, where there is an Evan T. Mandeville DIPG Foundation- my nephew lost his battle with DIPG last fall and during his treatment the Dana Farber Pediatric Cancer Institute took incredible care of him and his whole family. Now, through donations from their participation in the PanMass Challenge, his family has created a foundation so that all their donations go directly to DIPG research, a rare and devastating pediatric brain cancer.

To George Washington Hospital. They gave my family the greatest gift.  We continue to be grateful that our family is still all together.

In the meantime, I will not be going shopping on Black Friday. Or that entire weekend, for that matter. I am going to stay with my family and watch my daughters make their Grandbill laugh and their Grammy smile, and their daddy chuckle. I will skype with my brother and nieces and call my aunts and uncles. I will fill up my weekend with family hugs- there will be no time for shopping. Yep, I’m taking back Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Hug your kids. Call your family. Tell everyone you love that you love them. It’s never too much.

Xoxo

Christie

10 thoughts on “I’m Taking Back Thanksgiving

    • Yes! Kick up your slippered feet, get that glass of wine and piece of pumpkin pie and RELAX! I’m with you! Have a great Thanksgiving Dose Girls! I am thankful for all your comments on and support of my little blog here!

  1. Thanksgiving is also my favorite holiday. The three “F’s”…family, food and football. Three of my favorite things. I, too, am boycotting shopping on Thanksgiving. I do all my shopping days before to prepare for Thanksgiving so I wouldn’t need to leave the house. For those who go shopping that just means someone has to work instead of being with their family during the holiday. That just makes me sad. Can’t we take just one day off from the madness and be truly thankful for what we have?

    • Amen! I’ll be snug on my couch with the parade on- enjoying my long weekend with family and wine. And wine. Wait, did I say wine? 😉

  2. Lovely. I couldn’t agree more. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday – no gifts, no hype, just spending an entire long weekend and being thankful for time together relaxing.

  3. Love it. We get to see our beautiful Olivia and sweet little Sophie. It doesn’t get any better than that. Happy Friendsgiving to all of you.

  4. I totally agree! It drives me crazy that after focusing on why we are thankful for an entire month prior to Thanksgiving, we have a day entirely set aside for buying more stuff. People aren’t thankful, they take for granted the blessings that are already directly in front of them!

  5. Saw this listed on the SITS list of Thanksgiving posts and am so glad I clicked onto it to read! This is an awesome post! I absolutely love it and couldn’t agree more with everything you said here! I’ve never been a Black Friday participant and I’ve never really cared how others choose to spend the day after Thanksgiving. If shopping is what they wanted to do, well alright then. But this year is different. This year the craziness about it is really getting to me. I lost both my parents this year – my Mom in June and my Dad in September. They were elderly – they’d lived a long good life. I accept that it was just their time to go. What I can’t accept this year, right now – is the many I’ve heard planning their Black Friday with so much excitement and forethought – without hardly a word uttered about Thanksgiving day. They are so anxious to rush out and shop and rush into Christmas, that they end up sounding like Thanksgiving day is just an inconvenience to them. I am extra special thankful this year for the family I still have with me. I’m thankful for all the memories I have of wonderful Thanksgivings spent with my parents in the past. What I wouldn’t give to have just one more Thanksgiving with them! People need to slow down and appreciate what they have right here and right now. They won’t always have it! Christmas is nearly an entire month away! Forget about shopping! Embrace the ones you love! Get excited about that! Nothing else matters more!!!!

  6. Fabulous post – I found you in the comments on the SITS FB page.

    I’m looking forward to hanging out with my kids tomorrow and just crafting together. Hopefully, some of us will take a walk in the morning. No sales, just hanging out together. Followed by my inlaws joining us for dinner.

Leave a Reply

