I Never Got To Say Hello, I Love You, or Good-Bye

2 years ago today a light left this world and went up in the skies to shine on us from above. Camden Darcy was a brave girl that fought for the first month of her life to stay with us.

But ultimately she left us, taking her last breath in her daddy’s arms, surrounded by her momma, sister, Lola and Lolo. Free of the tubes. Free.

Auntie Maddie

Auntie Maddie honoring her niece

I never even got to say hello.

I never got to kiss the top of your head, marvel at your small fingers and toes, witness your baby sighs and yawns while in my arms.

I never got to say “Auntie is here, nice to meet you!”

I never got to say “I love you.”

I never got to tell you how much I loved you from the moment I heard you were going to be born. I never got to tell you how much I loved you and would be the “cool” auntie that would bring you treats and let you stay up late. I never got to tell you that my heart swelled up with love and pride the day you were born.

I never got to say “good-bye”.

I never got to give you one last kiss, one last squeeze, never got one last whiff of that baby smell. One last glimpse at a precious life that was taken from us way too quickly.

My dearest Cammie, I think about you every day. I love you every day. I miss you every day.

xoxo

Auntie

9 thoughts on “I Never Got To Say Hello, I Love You, or Good-Bye

Leave a Reply

