You Are What You Eat

If you are what you eat, then Sweets is a frozen lima bean (and Pi is a Miller Lite while I am a Cupcake).

Yep, the girl has gone all bonkers for frozen veggies which hey, fine by me! No cooking involved!

She’s also going to turn orange from all the mini-oranges she eats. And she’s definitely a carnivore as she gobbles up steak.

Yeah, go figure- the girl cannot get enough steak. But to be honest, I’ve got a great recipe for marinated flank steak and Pi has mastered the grilling piece, so it’s really tasty. And easy. And quick. Which are 2 requirements these days if we are going to have a homecooked meal that is not heated up in the microwave and poured onto your plate. I will include the recipe at the end of this post.

I’m not here to get on my soap box and talk about how we eat all “real” foods (but we do to a large degree), have cut out all processed foods (but we have limited it greatly) or set aside a Sunday a month to make homecooked meals that we then freeze and have for the rest of the month  (because we don’t do that at all).

But I DO love cooking and I do ABSOLUTELY believe that fresh ingredients are the way to go when feeding my family. That is why we have a huge garden and is how I got started on my recent kick of making my own baby food for Noggin (formerly known as SJ).

I say this like it’s been a huge undertaking and I am an expert on baby food making. No. I am an expert at steaming peas and carrots and throwing them in my Vitamix. Putting the puree in ice cube trays to freeze isn’t too expert either.

The blurrieness is the steam. And note to self: when taking pictures of veggies steaming on the stove, it will burn your hand.

The blurriness is the steam. And note to self: when taking pictures of veggies steaming on the stove, it will burn your hand.

No hand was burned in the taking of this picture

No hand was burned in the taking of this picture

But let me tell you, I am excited. First, the color alone is a whole lot more appealing than the brown tinged stuff that comes out of the jars and pouches they have out there.

Stop taking pictures and hand over the grub!

Stop taking pictures and hand over the grub!

And they taste like the actual vegetable!

It’s $1.72 for a bag of frozen carrots that made enough puree to last over a week. Which by even my math impaired brain is less expensive than $1.59 per pouch that will last 2 meals.

I’m sold.

So is she:

Noggin hijacked the spoon and took over meal time

Noggin hijacked the spoon and took over meal time

The 2 cookbooks I got are:

baby purrespuree cookbookWith recipes like Plum Delight and Mango Tango, how can you not love it? And I am a sucker for a pretty cookbook cover.

I’m done with the idea that brownish apple, banana, pea and carrot is the norm. I am going with the vibrant colors of homemade purees to include mango, papaya, cucumber cooler and watermelon slushie.

She may need to move over and share.

Have a great crazy day!

*Marinated Flank Steak Recipe:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup olive oil

4 Tablespoons honey

2 garlic cloves minced (the jarred stuff is fine too)

3 Tablespoons minced fresh Rosemary (or 1 Tablespoon dried)

2lb Flank Steak

Mix all ingredients except steak in a ziplock bag. Add Flank steak, seal and shake together so that ingredients cover steak. Put in refrigerator for 2 hours, or if you are in a rush, 30 minutes will do and you can keep it out at room temperature.

Grill (or broil in the oven) for 4 minutes per side, or til desired doneness. That is so not a word.

Leave a Reply

