….And How Do We Talk To Our Kids About Tragedy??

boston marathon finish line

 

Yesterday I posted about my experience talking to my 3 year old about death and dying as 2 of her very young cousins passed away from serious illnesses this past year.

Today I struggle with how I can keep my 3 year old from seeing images from, and hearing discussions about, the tragedy that occured in Boston yesterday. Because I’m sorry, I am NOT ready to subject my 3 year old to that.

I don’t want her to be nervous when going out to an event that is supposed to be fun and celebratory, though I can tell you I will most likely be a wreck and be all secret service agent level vigilant.

I don’t want to try and explain to her why someone would do this because I don’t know. I can’t wrap my head around it.

I don’t want her to grow up thinking the world is full of dangerous, evil, disturbed people that want to hurt her, because really a large majority of people out there are good, caring, kind and only want to love and protect children.

I want her to be safe and not trust everyone, but I don’t want her to be anxious and distrust everyone.

I want her to continue loving the color purple, ballet, bubbles, and balloons and not worry about bombs and guns and bad guys.

I don’t want to worry about turning on the TV to explosions and mass destruction and hurt children.

So yeah, we pretty much keep the TV off when she is awake.

The Boston Marathon is a treasured athletic event that is now marred by this tragedy. I do not want to mar my daughter’s childhood by the images related to it.

It is a sad, sad day for so many. Thoughts and well wishes and prayers to all in Boston. My previous home.

My Beloved Boston

My Beloved Boston

Hug your loves people. Hug them and tell them you love them every day.

Leave a Reply

